Search This Blog

Saturday, April 7, 2012

Momentary Meltdown (A standard part of marriage?)


Every 3-4 months I have a minor emotional meltdown and consider sending Gary (and the difficulties of marriage) packing back to VA in lieu of my free-er, easier life back in Florida. (These only last for one night.) The reason is usually that I miss my friends and family and I don't have a lot of friends here in NC, especially not like my best friends. Essentially, I'm not getting enough quality relationship time. Now, if you've ever been through The 5 Love Languages by Dr. Gary Chapman, you know that quality time is one of the languages, but if has two subgroups. Gary and I lucked out in that we have the same love language. The only problem is that, we "speak different dialects." My quality time requires conversation, while his simply requires time together (attention and conversation not necessary.)

Three nights ago, I had my meltdown, so Gary has spent these last two nights "showing me off." We went to a flower shop on Thursday and looked around for a while, not really intending to buy anything. (Have you seen the prices????) We eventually found a little cooler tucked in a corner that had loose flowers for sale. We perused them for a little while, appreciating the snap dragons and chrysanthemums in each window until we got to the last window and saw these beautiful, delicate, pink Gerbera daisies. Of course he bought them for me! I also happened to get a yellow rose for Sophie, but she hasn't even said thank you or anything! (we're not living together this week, so it requires a text.) After that, he took me out to Mellow Mushroom and of course we sat side by side in the booth, and he only got his iPhone once, to show me something. After that, he had a band practice with some guys he used to play with. I went to listen to them beucase I've really missed hearing him play! It was so fun, I crocheted (a baby blanket for my big sissy!) while he was playing. Overall, a very emotionally fulfilling night. :)

Last night, we also spent being together "on purpose." We started out by picking a movie to watch on Netflix (he let me pick!) then we went out for dinner again (again, we're not at our house and we ran out of food last night. We never eat out twice a week, let alone two nights in a row!). We went to East Coast Wings because we are both big fans of wings. My favorite place is Ken's Wing House in Orlando, but unfortunately not any place I would ever want to take my husband. (Think about other famous wing places.... yeah.) However, apparently great wings and objectifying women are a combo deal, as we weren't wowed by these wings. The sauce was good, but they were too hot to eat! Too hot is not normally a problem for restaurant food, but when you're eating chicken off a bone, it gets even hotter on the inside. The service wasn't fabulous either, but overall we got what we came for (food!), so we went home for our movie. We watched Vanity Fair, with Reese Witherspoon. It was weird, vague movie. Gary said he read that it was a book-to-movie type thing that had been rejected in the past because it would need to be three hours to be any good. Well, apparently they were right. I was having to explain things to Gary the whole way (I'm a bit more exposed to period movies so I could pick up things more easily.) and overall it felt like a really underdeveloped story. I always wondered what it would be like to watch the movie and not have read the book, would it be confusing? (I especially thought that about the "new" Jane Eyre!). Apparently it is very confusing! Anyway, I may read the book sometime. We ended the night by taking a shower (we don't have a shower at our house, so we've been really enjoying that!) and cuddling up in bed. Happy Emily :)

I guess the point of this is, do you other married people have emotional meltdowns? Or, you other recently-moved-from-friends-and-family people, do you have emotional meltdowns?

P.S. Just to keep my accountable, I'll be back on Wednesday!

Thursday, April 5, 2012

Why my blogs suck.

I've had a blog for a long time on LiveJournal (Thank you, Kristin!). I haven't kept up with that blog in about 4 years, even though the whole time I've been kinda "gee, I want to write a blog, I wish I had a blog, etc." I realized that the reason I don't have a blog is because I don't have anything to write about! My life isn't adventurous, it's just life. I wake up, I eat breakfast, I go to work, and so on. I don't have a lot of motivation to do anything at all, either. I've always had this idea in my head that other people live adventurous lives and I just live a nothing life. This comes a lot from reading other blogs about peoples lives and they sound so awesome and fun and eventful and fabulous! And I realized that's because they don't write about mundane things!

Who would sit here and tell you "I washed the laundry, and then dried it. Then I folded the socks, and I sorted the underwear, and I mended a hole..."? It's a blog, you get to be selective about what you write, so of course no one is going to write boring things. Also, a lot of these bloggers have blogging/life to-do lists that they post publicly, so I think that's something I have to do to. SO, here is a list.

April To Do
1. Write a list of potential blogging ideas.
Most of my problem is that I don't know what I'm going to write and thus can't plan. If I want to share a recipe that I've recently tried, I should remember to take pictures so that I can post them. If I'm going on an adventure, I need to make an effort to remember what we do when and things that would be interesting to share.

2. Update my blog twice a week.
Surely I can come up with something to say twice a week. In real life, I talk non stop! I just need to translate it to text.

3. Research a juice fast and raw food diet.
The juice fast is something I saw on another blog and I'm interested in trying it. My parents have begun juicing recently and it's just coming up more and more in my life. I watched a documentary on it about 4-6 months ago (Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead) and my interest is piqued. The Raw Food thing is the result of another documentary I watched with Gary and Sophie called "FoodMatters". (Thank you, Netflix!) It's mostly about vitamins and medicine, but there is a guy who really advocates a Raw Food diet and the three of us are equally interested in it. Since it goes hand in hand with a juice fast, I think we're going to be making a trip to the farmers market soon. Maybe I'll take pictures and share that with you!

4. Do things worthy of blog posts.
Pretty self explanatory. Stop sitting on your butt and live a life.

That is the end of my fabulous to do list. I will be back Saturday to let you know how things are going. I'm setting a reminder on my phone now!